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Law of the Month- May 2023

Right of Way and Emergency Vehicles

We all know to pull over when an emergency vehicle is approaching, and as temperatures
rise, calls for emergency services: fire, EMS, and law enforcement rise as well. This
means there will be more emergency vehicles on roadways, with the potential to turn on
their lights and sirens and head to a call at any minute. Between 2017 and 2021, there
were approximately 2,400 accidents involving emergency vehicles in Wisconsin, with
roughly 735 injuries and five deaths. In hopes of lowering that number and keeping
ourselves and occupants of emergency vehicles safe, it is important to know how to

respond to an emergency vehicle on the roadway

. Wisconsin State Statute 346.19: What to do on approach of emergency vehicle

(1) Upon the approach of any authorized emergency vehicle giving audible signal by
siren the operator of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way and shall immediately drive such
vehicle to a position as near as possible and parallel to the right curb or the right-hand
edge of the shoulder of the roadway, clear of any intersection and, unless otherwise
directed by a traffic officer, shall stop and remain standing in such position until the

authorized emergency vehicle has passed.

(2) This section does not relieve the operator of an authorized emergency vehicle from
the duty to drive with due regard under the circumstances for the safety of all persons

using the highway.

Penalties of failure to comply with Wisconsin State Statute 346.19 are underlined in
Wisconsin State Statute 346.22 (2)

346.22 (2): Any person violating s. 346.19 or 346.20 (4) (a) may be required to forfeit not
less than $30 nor more $300.
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